Singapore Pt. 1

Day 1

I arrived at Singapore at 1AM after a long drive from Kuala Lumpur.

Map picture

At Johor Bahru we got a cab which took us across the border. We passed without any delays, even though the woman at the customs kept staring at my passport wondering how come I’m not flying to Singapore. After that we stopped at the hostel where I was going to stay for the next 5 days. It’s hard to describe the feeling when you’re in a new country and all of a sudden you find yourself inside without having the slightest idea what’s actually around. I felt like I was in the middle of the ocean.

IMG_8410

The following morning I woke up relatively early because I had to meet Mei Ling in Chinatown around 11A.M. We arranged our meeting at exit “B” of the MRT, but when I got there I found out there’s actually no exit B at that station. My phone saved me again cause I found Wi-Fi connection nearby and we were able to meet in front of “Lucky Chinatown”. I forgot to mention that getting a prepaid SIM card in Singapore is very expensive – you need to deposit around $300, which you get back eventually.

After meeting at Chinatown we had lunch there and then left for Orchard road where we looked around the malls and from there got the bus to the Esplanade(it’s the building that looks like a durian). IMG_8415

IMG_8427IMG_8434

 

 

 

 

The view of the area was quite nice and around half an hour later we finally got to Singapore’s symbol – the Merlion. IMG_8450IMG_8444

I took the usual touristy pictures and then we explored around. I really liked that part, especially the Singapore River and all the places nearby.

IMG_8507 There were many more things to see, but I still had 5 more days. Later that evening we went with Pauline and Jovi for dinner and then saw the night view of the river and again…the Merlion 😛 Singapore feels so great at night, because it’s warm and you can enjoy walking around. I got the MRT from there and went back to the hostel where I took a walk through Little India.  IMG_8542IMG_8541 IMG_8579

 

 

 

 

Day 2

Since I didn’t plan anything the previous day I stayed quite late that night thinking of where to go next day, but I was too tired. In the morning I woke up early and began looking for a good destination, preferably nearby.

First stop was Arab Street which was walking distance away. On the way there I stopped at the nearby mosque which was 2 minutes away from the hostel. I took some shots and then left toward my original destination.

IMG_8582 Arab Street was filled with many stores selling carpets and many restaurants.IMG_8604IMG_8593

I wanted to see Sultan Mosque which was one of the special attractions in the area. I didn’t indent to go in so I just took a few shots on the outside and left along the road going east. IMG_8595 I decided to go to Chinatown after that so I was going to walk  there and take pictures along the way. I got somehow lucky cause right after I went near Chinatown it started to rain. I got lunch and then sat down for a while to see if the rain’s going to stop. Waiting for 20 minutes was long enough and I just went back to the hostel. I made some friends over there so we spend the rest of the time talking.

IMG_8612IMG_8628

IMG_8631

Enter a caption

It wasn’t a very exciting day but it was still OK.

Leave a Reply

